Tempe Passes Strictest Texting and Driving Law in Arizona
Posted on behalf of Phillips Law Group on Sep 28, 2015 in Auto Accidents
On Thursday, Sept. 24, Tempe City Council voted to adopt a new ordinance against texting and driving, which will be the strictest law of its kind in the state of Arizona. The ordinance passed with a 4-3 vote.
The law is set to go into effect at the end of October and will allow officers to fine drivers who use any kind of electronic device while driving. Tempe drivers will still be able to use their cellphone while driving, but they could face a fine if they are visibly distracted and are driving sporadically or swerving.
Although Tempe is not the first city in the state to enact a texting and driving law, other cities, like Tucson and Phoenix, find it difficult to prove that a driver was using their cellphone while driving. Tempes new law should make it easier for officers to prove that a driver was distracted by their device.
Arizona is one of only five states that has not passed a state-wide ban on texting and driving 46 other states including the District of Columbia have passed some kind of texting and driving law. Fourteen states have also banned talking on the phone while behind the wheel.
Studies have shown that texting and driving is six times more dangerous than driving while under the influence of alcohol. However, 69 percent of drivers admit to talking on a cellphone and 31 percent admit to texting while driving in the last 30 days.
Tempe drivers could face a fine of $100 for a first offense, $250 for a second offense. Any additional offenses within 24 months will be a fine of $500. The penalty will be considered a class one misdemeanor.
The Phoenix injury attorneys at Phillips Law Group have seen the devastation that can result from a testing and driving accident and encourage all Arizona drivers to put down their cellphones while driving.
If you have been injured in an accident, call or text 1-800-706-3000 for a free consultation.