Tempe DUI Accident Attorney
Accidents involving drivers under the influence are preventable events that can dramatically change the course of a victim’s life. Victims are often left with serious injuries that may result in significant medical bills, post-accident treatment expenses, and loss of wages from being unable to work.
At Phillips Law Group, our legal team has represented over 155,000 clients and recovered over $750,000,000 in compensation on behalf of injured victims. We have a proven track record and over 27 years of experience, so we understand how to build a strong argument for your claim. Our founder Jeffrey Phillips is a graduate from the Law School at Arizona State University in Tempe and an active member of the State Bar of Arizona.
Contact a Tempe DUI attorney from our firm for a free, no obligation consultation. There are no upfront fees or costs and we are available 24/7 to take your call or chat online.
Free consultation - Ph: 1-800-706-3000.
Am I Eligible to Pursue Compensation?
There are several factors involved when it comes to DUI accident cases. Determining if you have a case and whether you may be eligible for compensation will depend on your particular situation. This may include looking at the severity of your injuries, how long you will require medical treatment, any property damage sustained, and other related losses.
In order to recover compensation, you must first establish negligence. The driver must have been negligent in his or her actions that directly caused you to suffer an injury. Even if the driver was under the influence at the time of the accident, the licensed restaurant or bar that served the intoxicated individual could also be held liable for negligence. This is in accordance with Arizona Revised Statute § 4-311(D), Arizona’s dram shop law.
There are four elements of negligence that must be proven by you and your attorney. These include:
- Duty of care – The driver must have owed you a duty of care to keep you and others on the road safe from harm. This includes maintaining a safe speed, driving distance, and obeying traffic laws.
- Breach of duty – The driver must have breached his or her duty of care by behaving in a negligent or careless manner. He or she failed to act as a reasonable person would under similar circumstances.
- Causation – The driver’s negligent actions or inactions directly caused you to suffer an injury. Had the driver not decided to drive while under the influence, you would not have been harmed.
- Damages suffered – The injuries sustained in the accident caused you to suffer measurable damages, such as medical expenses, property damage and loss of wages.
If you are unsure if you are eligible to file a claim, we encourage you to contact a Tempe DUI accident lawyer at our firm today. We can review the details of your accident and determine your possible legal options.
We are ready to schedule your free consultation: 1-800-706-3000.
What is the Value of My Case?
In Arizona, there are no caps or limits on the amount of damages you may be able to recover. A lawyer from our firm can help you try to seek maximum compensation, if you have a case. However, each case is different and requires a detailed investigation to determine an accurate value of the damages you have suffered.
Some of the damages that could be included to calculate your damages claim include:
- Past and future medical expenses
- Treatment services
- Property damage
- Lost wages
- Loss of future earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Emotional trauma
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of companionship
For more information on the potential value of your damages claim, reach out to a licensed Tempe DUI accident attorney today for a free consultation. There is no risk in calling us to learn more about your rights.
Deadline for Filing an Injury Claim
The state of Arizona follows a specific deadline for injury victims to file a lawsuit. This is known as the statute limitations. In most instances, victims of DUI accidents have two years from the date of the accident to file an injury claim. There can be certain exceptions to this rule as well. The deadline could be extended or shortened depending on your situation.
If you have any questions about the statute of limitations or are unsure if your deadline to file has passed, we recommend that you reach out to one of our attorneys for legal advice.
What If the Other Driver Does Not Have Insurance?
All drivers in Arizona are required to have lability insurance coverage. The minimum amount of coverage is:
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury
- $30,000 per accident for one or more people for bodily injury
- $10,000 in property damage
In the event the driver under the influence does not have insurance or enough to cover the damages you have suffered, our legal team at Phillips Law Group may be able to help you file an underinsured claim through your own insurance company. Let us review the specific details surrounding your accident.
Does Hiring a Lawyer Help My Case?
In the immediate aftermath of an accident, injury victims may be unsure about what their next steps should be. The other driver’s insurance company will start calling you to get as much information about what happened as they can. They may even try to settle your claim as quickly as possible, convince you to provide a recorded statement, or sign a medical release form in order to obtain your medical records from the accident. These efforts are all an attempt to diminish the value of your claim.
By hiring a DUI accident lawyer, you will have someone fighting for your best interests and ensuring that your rights are being protected. Our legal team at Phillips Law Group have decades of experience handing a variety of cases and communicating with insurance companies on behalf of our clients. We know the tactics many insurers try to use to discredit your accident and injuries. We are prepared to guide you throughout the legal process so that you can focus on what really matters – your recovery.
Need legal help? Gives us a call at 1-800-706-3000 to get started.
Common DUI Accident Injuries
Oftentimes in DUI related accidents, the reaction time for a driver under the influence is very slow, which means that the force of the impact can be greater compared to other types of accidents. Some of the most common injuries victims sustain in a DUI accident may include, but are not limited to:
- Broken bones
- Cuts and lacerations
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Back and neck trauma
- Internal organ damage
If you have suffered a serious injury in a DUI accident, it is generally a wise decision to consult with one of our experienced Tempe DUI accident attorneys as soon as possible after receiving medical treatment. We have a proven record of success and charge no upfront fees if we take on your case.
Discuss Your Claim With a Tempe DUI Lawyer
Discussing your claim and your possible legal options with a Tempe DUI lawyer from our firm can be an important part of the recovery process. We have recovered millions in compensation for our clients and are ready to help you through every step of the legal process if you have a case and decide to move forward.
Schedule your risk-free, no-obligation consultation today. We are available 24 hours a day over the phone or online. There are no upfront fees for our services and we only get paid if we help you obtain compensation.
Our law office is located about 25 minutes away from the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division in Tempe.
We look forward to helping you. Call 1-800-706-3000 now.