Free Consultation
No Fees Unless You Collect
1-800-706-3000
Se Habla Español

Prescott DUI Accident Attorneys

Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs can cause serious accidents that often result in life-changing injuries or death. If you or a loved one was injured or killed in a car accident caused by a drunk driver, you may be eligible to seek compensation for physical, financial and emotional damages. Getting in contact with a licensed attorney is an important step to recovering from those damages.

The trusted attorneys at Phillips Law Group have been helping injury victims in Arizona recover compensation for nearly three decades. We have obtained over $750 million on behalf of our clients, including $4 million for the victim of a car accident who suffered a spinal cord injury. Founding partner, Jeffrey Phillips, has obtained verdicts in several Arizona counties, including Yavapai County, and is a Top 25 Member of the Motor Vehicle Trial Lawyers Association.

Contact us today to schedule a free consultation with a licensed Prescott DUI accident attorney. There are no upfront fees.

Call Phillips Law Group anytime at 1-800-706-3000 

How Do I Know if I Am Eligible to Pursue Compensation?   

There are many factors to consider when determining if a drunk driving crash victim can pursue compensation. That is one of the reasons you should give serious thought to having a meeting with a Prescott DUI accident lawyer to discuss the specifics of your situation.

There are four elements that must be present to have a valid case against a drunk driver:

Duty of Care – All drivers have a duty to operate their vehicles in a safe manner. They are obligated to take reasonable measures to prevent harm to themselves and others.

Breached Duty of Care – The at-fault driver did something or failed to do something that caused the duty of care to be breached. For example, a person driving while intoxicated was breaching a duty of care.

Breached Duty Caused Your Injuries – There must be a direct link between your injury and the breached duty of care. In other words, you or your attorney must prove that the driver’s intoxication directly led to the car accident that caused your injuries.

Damages – The injury you sustained created damages. These damages may include medical expenses, lost wages from missing work, damage to your vehicle, pain and suffering and more.

If the intoxicated driver was out drinking at a bar or restaurant prior to the accident, you may be able to file a claim against that establishment under Arizona’s Dram Shop Law. This law holds bars and restaurants liable for serving alcohol to minors or for over-serving alcohol to adults who were already obviously intoxicated.

Call 1-800-706-3000 to discuss your potential claim. No upfront fees.

How Much is My Claim Worth?

DUI accidents can cause significant damages for victims, which may include:

  • Past, present and future medical expenses (related to the accident)
  • Medical devices (wheelchairs, crutches, knee braces, etc.)
  • X-Rays, CAT scans and MRI’s
  • Ambulatory services
  • Transportation related to medical appointments
  • Vehicle damage
  • Property damage
  • Lost wages
  • Pain and suffering

Since the state of Arizona places no caps or limits on damages in personal injury claims, your attorney can pursue the full value of your damages if you have a valid case. This may include punitive damages, which are meant to punish the at-fault party.

The value of a case is a complex issue that you can discuss with one of our experienced Prescott DUI accident attorneys. We pursue maximum compensation for accident victims.

How Can a Lawyer Help Me?

There are many advantages to working with an experienced attorney after an accident. The legal team at Phillips Law Group is prepared to manage the legal process on your behalf. This may include:

  • Gathering evidence
  • Reconstructing the scene of the accident
  • Interviewing witnesses
  • Filing your injury/damages claim
  • Talking to insurance companies
  • Reviewing medical records
  • Negotiating a fair settlement
  • Preparing for trial (if necessary)

Our Prescott DUI accident attorneys know insurance companies can quickly become involved in the process. They like to contact victims soon after the accident to try to get them to agree to a settlement or provide a recorded statement.

Insurance companies use many different strategies to try to avoid providing fair compensation to accident victims. We know how insurance companies operate and how to defend the value of a claim when dealing with them.

We understand victims often do not have the time or resources to manage the many aspects of the legal process. We want you to be focused on medical treatment and recovery.

Our firm has a proven track record of obtaining fair compensation for accident victims.

What Should I Do After an Accident?

There are a few important steps we recommend taking after an accident with a drunk driver. These steps can help ensure your safety and help protect your potential claim:

Call 9-1-1 – A police officer will be sent to the scene to investigate, issue any citations and write up a report on the accident. The officer’s report could be one of the most vital pieces of evidence in proving the validity of your case.

Seek medical attention – Your injuries need to be diagnosed and treated to help prevent them from worsening. Inform the doctor that you were injured in a car accident so it will be noted in your medical records.

Take pictures – If you can do so safely, take pictures of the accident scene and your injuries. This can help to show the severity of your injuries and prove how the accident occurred. However, if you are too injured to do this, your lawyer and his or her legal team can do so instead.

Collect witness information – Ask witnesses what they saw and take notes or record their statements on your smartphone, with their permission. Make sure to get their names and phone numbers as well.

Contact a lawyer – A lawyer can review any information you collected, along with your account of the accident to determine if you may have a case.

Contact a Prescott DUI lawyer today at 1-800-706-3000

Common Accidents and Injuries Caused by Drunk Drivers

Drunk drivers often cause the following types of serious car accidents:

  • Rear-end crashes
  • Wrong-way collisions
  • Head-on collisions
  • Pedestrian accidents

These accidents commonly result in severe injuries, such as:

  • Whiplash
  • Concussions
  • Lacerations
  • Fractures
  • Soft-tissue injuries
  • Back and neck trauma
  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Traumatic brain injuries (TBI’s)
  • Paralysis
  • Death

If you or a loved one suffered any injuries in an accident caused by a drunk driver, you may be able to take legal action to pursue compensation.

Complete our Free online Case Evaluation form to get started.

How Much Time Do I Have to Take Legal Action?

Most personal injury victims have two years from the date the injury was discovered to file a claim (Arizona Revised Statutes 12-542). However, there are instances when the deadline may be shortened or extended, depending on the details of your case. For instance, if your claim is against a government entity, you only have 180 days to submit notice of your claim. If you were a minor at the time of the accident, you have two years from your 18th birthday to file your claim.

If you miss the deadline for your claim, it will likely be dismissed in court. That is why it is important to discuss the situation with an experienced attorney as soon as possible.

Contact a Prescott DUI Accident Lawyer Today for Your Free Case Review   

Contacting a licensed lawyer with a record of obtaining compensation can be an important step for victims of drunk driving accidents, which can be life-changing experiences.

The attorneys at Phillips Law Group offer a free case review with no obligation to take legal action if we find you have a valid case. There are no upfront fees and we do not receive payment unless we win your case.  

In more than 27 years of representing Arizona injury victims, we have obtained more than $750 million in compensation.

Call Phillips Law Group at 1-800-706-3000 for a free case review

Back to Top