Mesa Auto Accident Lawyer
Obtaining financial compensation after being injured in an auto accident can be an important part of the recovery process. Following a collision, many victims are unable to work due to their injuries, which can create considerable financial instability - especially when medical costs begin to accumulate.
Since 1993 Phillips Law Group has recovered millions in compensation for car accident victims throughout Arizona including $4,000,000 for a motorist that suffered a spinal injury, $3,000,000 for a vehicle occupant that suffered a brain injury and $2,650,000 for the family of a motorist that was fatally injured in a collision.
For help with your auto accident compensation claim, contact our team of Mesa car accident lawyers today for your free consultation. There are no upfront fees if we take on your case and we only get paid when we obtain a recovery.
Free Consultation. Ph: 1-800-706-3000
How Do I Know If I Have A Case?
Following an accident, many victims are often unsure if they have grounds to file a claim. As there can be different circumstances in every collision, it's important to reach out to a reputable auto accident lawyer and explain the incident as you recall it happening. Having any information from the crash scene can also be beneficial - some items may include:
- The Police report
- Photos of the damaged vehicles and the crash scene
- Contact information of any witnesses
If some time has passed since your accident happened, it can also be helpful if you have received medical treatment for your injuries - as those medical records may be used to help build a stronger case for your damages claim. However, if you do not have this information and you decide to hire us, we will work to obtain all of the information that we need, to help present a strong argument on your behalf.
At Phillips Law Group, we understand that as a victim, you may have many questions after your crash has occurred. Our car accident lawyers have the answers and welcome you to contact us today so that we can review the details of your incident and explore your legal options.
How Much Is My Car Accident Case Worth?
It's important to note that there can be many factors that contribute to a compensation case and those factors can influence how much may be available to claim. Commonly, the amount of insurance coverage that the at-fault driver has can help to establish what may initially be available.
For example, in Arizona, there are required minimum limits of coverage which are $10,000 for property damage coverage per accident, $15,000 per person for bodily injury coverage and $30,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage.
- Bodily Injury caters to injuries to the body that others may have received as a result of negligence from the policy holder.
- Property Damage caters to damage to vehicle(s) that may have been involved in a collision where the policy holder is at-fault.
However, if there were other factors that contributed to the collision, our team will investigate all of those areas to help determine the cause of the accident and who needs to be held accountable.
Have Questions? We Have Answers. Ph: 1-800-706-3000.
Can Hiring A Lawyer Help My Case?
In most instances, when accident victims hire a lawyer to represent them, they recover a higher amount of financial compensation, compared to those that do not hire a lawyer, or when they deal with the insurance company directly.
At the Phillips Law Group, we have decades of experience handling car accident cases and we understand the legal process very thoroughly. We can help to act as a shield between yourself and the insurance companies - who are only interested in settling your case for the lowest possible amount. Their primary obligation is to the shareholders of the insurance company that they work for - and despite what they may say - they have no interest in your well being or your future.
How Long Do I Have To File A Case?
In the state of Arizona, generally there is a two year time period to file a car accident case. This means that the documentation must be filed no later than two years after the day that the accident occurred.
However, there can be extenuating circumstances that may extend this date. Some of these may include:
- Rule of Discovery - which may be applicable if an auto accident victim is not aware of their injuries until after the accident took place. This is quite common in auto crashes - for example, a driver that was rear ended may not immediately have a sore neck after the crash, but a few days later may experience a lot of physical pain.
- Victim is a Minor - if the victim is under the age of 18 years, the date may be extended to when that person becomes 18 years old.
If a claim is filed against the State Government, there may also be special conditions that apply. In some instances, a Notice of Claim must be filed within 180 days of the accident occurring. To learn more about this topic, we welcome you to read more "here".
Should you be unsure about your specific incident, contact a Mesa car accident attorney at our law firm and let us review the merits of your claim. It's free and there are no upfront fees if we take on your case.
Call us today - Ph: 1-800-706-3000.
What If I Was Hit By An Uninsured Driver?
If you have been involved in a collision with an uninsured driver, you may still be able to recover compensation. There may be additional areas that our lawyers can investigate to determine if they are available for your specific case. We may also be able to claim against your own policy.
Should you be hit by a driver that DOES have insurance but it is not enough to cover the damages caused in the collision, there may be an option to file an under-insured coverage claim against the insurance company of the at-fault driver.
For more information, we encourage you to visit this topic in our blog titled "What You Should Know About Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage".
How Can I Handle The Insurance Company?
Following an accident, victims will often be contacted by the insurance company of the at-fault driver. Should they contact you BEFORE you speak to an auto accident lawyer, it's important to not give a statement or agree to sign any documentation. Any information that you give to them may be used against you to discredit your claim.
The insurance representative is aiming to prove that their client (the at-fault driver) was not negligent and that the damages are not as significant as they may seem.
All of these factors can have a negative effect on the success of your case.
To help protect yourself against the insurance company, you may like to contact a Mesa auto accident attorney at Phillips Law Group and allow us to protect you. We have an entire team of attorneys, support staff and access to industry experts that have many years of experience dealing with insurance companies and the strategies that they use to discredit accident victims. Our initial consultation is free and you are not obligated to hire us if we determine that you may have a case.
Need help? Call us today at 1-800-706-3000.
Types of Accidents That Can Cause Serious Injuries
Despite advances in vehicle-awareness systems like lane departure warnings and back up cameras, many accidents are caused by drivers not paying attention to driving. Some of these may include:
- Distracted driving - despite laws being in place to prevent distracted driving, most drivers bring their phones with them and admit to using them while driving. As accidents can happen very quickly, most drivers are unaware that the collision is about to take place which can result in the driver not being able to avoid the accident or apply the brakes to lessen the impact.
- Rear end crashes - are often the cause of whiplash injuries. Being hit from behind usually causes the driver being hit to jolt forward unexpectedly and with great force. These accidents are often caused by drivers that are texting while driving.
- Side impacts - intersections are a common location for side impact collisions, where one car is turning in front of oncoming traffic.
- Head on collisions - occur when a motorist that is driving in the opposite direction collides with another driver headed in the other direction. These collisions are often caused by intoxicated drivers and can be deadly, due to the forces that are involved.
- Hit and Runs - at-fault drivers that are uninsured or have a reason to not be investigated by Police can run from the scene of a crash. In some instances, hit and run crashes only result in property damage however, serious injuries can be sustained should the victim be in the vehicle at the time of the accident.
Common Injuries From Auto Accidents
While today's vehicles offer various safety features to help protect occupants in the event of a collision, the speed of some collisions can reduce the effectiveness of these safety features. Some of the most common types of injuries that vehicle occupants receive include:
- Cuts and Lacerations
- Broken bones
- Head injuries
- Soft tissue injuries
- Lower back injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
Recovering from injuries sustained in a car crash can be expensive and time consuming. Often, accident victims are unable to return to work and also have no access to their vehicle due to it being damaged in the collision.
Contact A Mesa Car Accident Lawyer Today
Having a reputable law firm on your side can be an important part of the recovery process. For more than 25 years, the team at Phillips Law Group have been helping car accident victims to recover the compensation they are eligible to receive, and we charge no upfront fees if we take on your case.
Our award-winning, founding partner - Jeffrey Phillips - is a member of the National Trial Lawyers Association, a Leaders Forum member of the American Association for Justice and has been included as a Top 25 member of the Motor Vehicle Trail Lawyers Association.
There are no upfront fees if we take on your car accident case and our initial case review is also free of charge.
To learn more about how we may be able to help you, contact our team of legal professionals today.
Free Consultation. Ph: 1-800-706-3000.