Glendale DUI Accident Attorneys
If you were injured or a loved one was killed in a car crash caused by a drunk driver, you may have the right to pursue compensation for physical, financial and emotional damages. Contacting a licensed lawyer is an important step to take when considering legal action.
Phillips Law Group has been helping Arizona injury victims obtain compensation for damages for over 27 years. Our firm has obtained more than $750,000,000 in compensation, including several multi-million-dollar settlements for those who suffered severe injuries in motor vehicle accidents.
Contact us today to set up a free consultation with a Glendale DUI accident attorney. If we take your case, there will be no upfront fee. Our trusted attorneys are not paid unless their clients get paid first.
Am I Eligible to Pursue Compensation?
It is very difficult to determine if you may have a valid case on your own, because there are so many factors involved. The burden of proof is on the victim to establish his or her injuries and the accident that caused those injuries was caused by another party’s negligence.
Another factor victims may not consider is that they may be able to pursue a claim against the bar or establishment that served the at-fault driver alcohol, under Arizona Revised Statutes 4-311.
The experienced personal injury team at Phillips Law Group can discuss the specific circumstances surrounding your claim and determine if you may have a viable case. If you do, we can discuss the next steps you can take to pursue compensation for your injuries.
The legal process is complex and that is why many accident victims choose to hire an attorney. Those who do, often obtain more in compensation than those who go through the legal process alone.
What is the Value of My Claim?
The value of your claim depends on the damages you sustained. These are the economic and non-economic losses you suffered because of the accident, such as:
- Medical expenses already incurred
- Future medical expenses
- Loss of income and future wages
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of services, consortium or companionship
- Funeral expenses if the accident resulted in your loved one’s wrongful death
You may also be able to pursue punitive damages against the drunk driver. These are special damages that are meant to punish the defendant for egregious conduct.
Every case is different, so it is important to talk to a Glendale DUI accident attorney about the possible value of your damages.
If you have questions, we have answers. Call us today at 1-800-706-3000.
Deadlines for Filing a Personal Injury Claim
There is a two-year statute of limitations in Arizona for personal injury claims, including drunk driving accidents and wrongful death claims (Arizona Revised Statutes 12-542). However, there are exceptions to this time limit and sometimes you have less time to file your claim.
Since each case is unique, we recommend contacting our knowledgeable personal injury team. We can determine the time limit that applies to your particular claim.
Does Hiring a Lawyer Help My Case?
Having a lawyer represent you after a drunk driving accident is an important part of the recovery process. Because drunk driving accidents often involve higher speeds or head-on collisions, accident victims often suffer serious injuries. After being hurt in a drunk driving accident, you will need to focus on recovering to the maximum point possible. You need a lawyer who you can trust to handle your legal issues while you concentrate on your health.
At Phillips Law Group, our personal injury lawyers have extensive experience with the Arizona legal system. We have obtained fair compensation for many motor vehicle accident victims, including $4.5 million in a motor vehicle wrongful death case. We keep our clients well-informed throughout the legal process, so they know what to expect and how their case is progressing.
Our attorneys are also prepared to take cases to court when necessary. We are dedicated to pursuing maximum compensation for injury victims, including punitive damages if they may apply to a case.
Tips for the Aftermath of an Accident
The aftermath of an accident is confusing and stressful for everyone involved, particularly those who were hurt. It is helpful to learn what to do after this type of accident, not only for your own safety, but also to help preserve a potential legal claim.
The important thing is to be safe and protect your health first and foremost. While it is helpful to gather evidence after an accident, if you are too severely injured or it is unsafe, you should focus on getting medical treatment.
- Report the accident to the police – Drinking and driving is against the law and you can report your suspicions to the police so that they can gather evidence of this at the accident scene.
- Seek medical attention – It is important that you seek medical attention immediately after your accident to protect your health and help to link your injuries to the accident.
- Contact an experienced lawyer – A personal injury lawyer can complete an investigation and gather evidence to establish that you were hurt by a drunk driver.
The lawyers at Phillips Law Group can determine if you may have a case and you can decide if you want to pursue it. We want you to have the information you need to make an informed decision.
Our firm is prepared to assist you and answer your legal questions.
Arizona Drunk Driving Laws
When a person is suspected of driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, law enforcement has the right to stop him or her and conduct a field test. If the person refuses to take this test, his or her driver’s license is automatically suspended for one year for a first offense. If it is a second or third offense, the suspension period is two years.
The criminal consequences of a drunk driving conviction are as follows:
- 1st offense – Minimum jail time of 24 hours with a maximum of 10 days; $250 base fine; license suspension between 90 and 360 days; requirement to install an ignition interlock device
- 2nd offense – Minimum jail time of 30 days with a maximum of 90 days; $500 base fine; one-year license suspension, requirement to install an ignition interlock device
- 3rd or subsequent offense – Minimum jail time of four months; $750 base fine; one-year license suspension; requirement to install an ignition interlock device
Dangers of Driving While Impaired
It is illegal to drive in Arizona with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or greater, but even a small amount of alcohol can impair your ability to operate a car safely.
Here are some of the side effects of alcohol for drivers:
Impairs the Ability to Concentrate
Many people underestimate how much concentration it takes to drive safely. You must focus on the road in front of you and ignore common distractions, such as talking passengers, cell phone alerts and distractions outside the vehicle. You must be able to stay in your own lane, maintain your speed and pay attention to traffic signals.
Drivers have to make a lot of judgments when driving, such as whether to drive through a yellow light or make a turn. Alcohol intake inhibits your ability to make sound decisions. You may be unable to recognize dangers or be more likely to speed or go the wrong way.
Slows Reaction Time
Drinking also slows down a person’s reaction time. If a car suddenly brakes in front of a person who has been drinking, he or she may not stop in time to avoid an accident.
Drinking can blur your vision and impair your depth perception. This could increase the risk of a rear-end crash.
Drinking also negatively affects your motor skills, such as eye, hand and foot coordination.
You can reach Phillips Law Group today by phone. 1-800-706-3000
Common Types of Injuries from Drunk Driving Crashes
Drunk driving collisions often cause serious injuries, such as:
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Soft tissue injuries
Unfortunately, many victims of drunk-driving crashes do not survive. Those who do may be so severely injured, they need extensive physical therapy and other medical treatment for an extended period, or the rest of their lives.
Contact Our Glendale DUI Accident Lawyers Today
If you were hurt in a drunk driving accident or you tragically lost a loved one in this kind of crash, Phillips Law Group is here to help.
Call us today: 1-800-706-3000
We are prepared to determine if you can take legal action to attempt to recover compensation for damages. The consultation to discuss your claim is absolutely free and confidential. If we determine you may have a case, you can decide whether to move forward. If you do, we will not charge upfront fees. Our firm does not receive payment unless our clients are compensated through the legal process.
Our office in Phoenix is only about 23 minutes from Glendale High School.
Contact us online by filling out the Free Case Evaluation form.