Phoenix DUI Lawyers and Ignition Interlock Laws
Posted on behalf of Phillips Law Group on Feb 03, 2010 in Local
Being arrested for DUI in Arizona is a serious criminal charge, and the state is known to have some of the toughest DUI laws in the United States. One such law involves the requirement to have an Ignition Interlock Device, or IID, installed in the personal vehicle or vehicles of someone who is convicted of DUI. Not only is this law becoming more strict with regularity, but there are other burdens and costs associated with the IID that every DUI defendant needs to consider. This IID law is also just one of the many reasons that anyone who faces this charge needs to contact an Arizona DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible to schedule an initial consultation.
The Arizona DUI Ignition Interlock Device Law
As of 2007, Arizona enacted a new law that required all defendants convicted of DUI to have an IID installed in their vehicles. This device forces the driver to basically pass an on-site breathalyzer test in order to be able to drive their vehicles. If the driver does not pass this test, the device will not allow the vehicle to move. It used to be that such a penalty was imposed only on those who had been convicted of multiple DUIs in Arizona. However, the new law moved that schedule up to include anyone who was convicted of DUI.
The Hidden Burdens of the Ignition Interlock Device after Conviction for DUI in Arizona
Aside from the embarrassment that comes with the installation and requirement to use an IID, there are other duties, responsibilities and costs associated with its use. For instance, costs that are the responsibility of the convicted DUI defendant in regards to the IID include:
- The installation fee, which usually costs between $75 and $100
- Maintenance costs
- Lease costs for the technology in the unit, which usually ranges between $65 and $75 per month
- Repair costs
In addition to the costs involved, the DUI defendant is also responsible for the maintenance these IID's require. Generally, maintenance is required after 30, 60 and 90 days after installation and every 60 days thereafter. The device must also be brought in for inspection after each occurrence when the device returns a reading of a BAC of .03 or higher. These IID's must also remain in the DUI defendant's vehicle for one year after their installation.
How to Deal with the Reality of an Arizona Ignition Interlock Device
If you are facing prosecution for DUI in Arizona, the prospect of having to deal with an IID is now very real. Therefore, you need to take every step possible to provide yourself with the best defense. Contact the Arizona DUI lawyers at Montano Arentz & Associates, PLLC today to schedule an initial consultation.