There are several state and federal laws in Arizona that prohibit employment discrimination on the basis of an employee’s or applicant’s race. This includes discrimination related to hiring, terminating pay, job assignments, training and other terms and… Read More
Employees who are injured on the job turn to workers’ compensation to pay for their medical expenses and partial lost wages while they are recovering. However, many workers worry about their employer firing them while they are collecting workers’ compensation… Read More
Sex or gender discrimination in the workplace occurs when a person is treated differently at work because of his or her gender. This discriminatory behavior can occur when an individual is applying for a position or during the course of his or her employment.
If… Read More
Unexpectedly losing your job can come as a distressing surprise and may cause serious financial difficulties in your life.
Although most employees are subject to termination at the will of their employer, there are some exceptions that may enable you… Read More
Wage theft occurs when an employer fails to pay a worker for the time he or she has worked. In Arizona, employers are required to follow state and federal laws governing how much employees are paid and when they are to be paid.
If your employer has failed… Read More
For the last 50 years, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA) has provided valuable protection for workers over the age of 40 from workplace discrimination.
However, older employees still consistently report higher incidences of discrimination,… Read More
On July 1, a provision of Proposition 206 will go into effect that requires employers in Arizona to provide their employees with mandatory earned paid sick leave.
As Proposition 206, or the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, takes effect, the concept… Read More
Most workers in Arizona are accustomed to having breaks throughout the workday. While employees may view breaks as a right they are entitled to, employers are not required to provide time off during the workday.
However, if an employer chooses to provide… Read More
Arizona increased the state’s minimum wage from $8.05 to $10 per hour on Jan. 1, 2017 after voters passed Proposition 206 during the November general election.
To address questions or concerns regarding Arizona’s new law, the state’s Industrial Commission… Read More
Many Arizona workers who receive more than $30 in tips per month are considered tipped employees, which may include waiting staff, bartenders and cleaning staff. The rights of tipped employees are more complicated than those paid a straight hourly wage… Read More