Arizona Motorcycle Laws
Posted on behalf of Phillips Law Group on Nov 10, 2017 in Motorcycle Accidents
Motorcycles are popular vehicles that offer operators and riders freedom and mobility. However, 284 motorcycle collisions, 18 of which were fatal, have been investigated by the Arizona Department of Public Safety since the start of 2017.
Like other states, Arizona has a series of laws that are designed to protect motorcycle operators and passengers from the dangers of traveling on this type of vehicle.
Our Phoenix motorcycle accident lawyers are dedicated to protecting the rights of motorcycle accident victims. Our attorneys are knowledgeable about Arizona’s motorcycle laws and can discuss them with you during a free confidential consultation if you were injured in an accident.
Requirements for Obtaining a Motorcycle Endorsement
To get a valid license to operate a motorcycle in Arizona, you must meet the following criteria:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Have a learner’s permit for at least six months if under 18 years old
- Complete a motorcycle driver safety program that the Motor Vehicle Division Approves or submit a certified form from a parent or guardian that states that the applicant has at least 30 hours of driving practice
Like with other license requirements in Arizona, a person who wants to acquire a class M endorsement must pass a written test, medical screening and vision screening.
A class M license is required to legally operate a motorcycle in Arizona. Licensed drivers can also receive a class M endorsement on their current license.
Arizona Helmet Law
According to Arizona’s motorcycle helmet law ARS § 28-964, all motorcycle riders and passengers under the age of 18 are required to wear a helmet.
There are two types of helmets motorcyclists can choose from: three-quarter and full face. However, you must make sure the helmet is designed to meet U.S. Department of Transportation and state standards or contain a label from the Snell Memorial Foundation.
The helmet should also fit snugly and all the way around the motorcyclist's head. Additionally, the helmet should have no obvious defects, such as cracks, loose padding or frayed straps.
Other Safety Equipment
Additionally, motorcycle operators are required by Arizona law to wear protective glasses, goggles or a transparent face shield or to have a protective windshield installed on the motorcycle.
The motorcycle should also be equipped with a rearview mirror, a seat, headlamps and footrests. If a passenger rides on the motorcycle, there must also be a seat and footrests for the passenger.
Motorcycle Passenger Law
Arizona law requires the installation of certain motorcycle parts if a passenger is riding on the motorcycle, including a seat and footrests for the passenger.
If a passenger is under 18 years old, he or she is required to wear a helmet. While the motorcyclist has a permit, he or she cannot bring passengers on the bike.
Arizona’s lane-sharing law consists of the following rules:
- Motorcyclists are entitled to full use of a lane motorcyclist shall not pass another vehicle in the same lane of traffic
- A motorcyclist shall not drive between traffic lanes or between adjacent rows of vehicles (lane splitting)
- Motorcyclists shall not ride more than two vehicles side-by-side in a single lane
In Arizona, the maximum noise level for motorcycle mufflers is determined by the model of the motorcycle, measured 50 feet from the center of a lane of the road.
Arizona law requires the original manufacturer’s muffler be installed on a motorcycle. Noise reduction parts must be installed if the original muffler is no longer installed. Arizona also prohibits the use of cutoff or bypass devices.
Contact a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer for Help
Because of the lack of protection, individuals injured in a motorcycle accident often suffer serious injuries like traumatic brain injuries, paralysis or multiple fractures.
If you believe your motorcycle accident was caused by a negligent driver, it is important to contact an experienced motorcycle accident lawyer for assistance.
For nearly 30 years, our personal injury lawyers have helped accident victims pursue claims for compensation for their injuries. We are knowledgeable about the state’s motorcycle laws and fight diligently to secure compensation for our clients.
We can discuss your claim during a free, no obligation consultation. We work on a contingency fee, which means you only pay us if you recover on your claim. We can handle communications with the insurance company, investigate the circumstance surrounding your accident and focus on the legal aspect of your claim while you concentrate on your recovery.
Call or text 1-800-706-3000 for help with your claim.