How to File a Worker’s Compensation Claim in Arizona
Posted on behalf of Phillips Law Group on Jan 03, 2017 in Workers' Compensation
Arizona workers who have been injured at work or have developed work-related illnesses have the right to file for worker’s compensation, which can pay for related medical expenses and lost wages.
Most employers carry worker’s compensation insurance to cover accepted claims. If an employer has failed to do so, the Industrial Commission of Arizona (ICA) carries a fund to provide benefits for workers in such a situation.
If you are injured on the job or suffer a job-related illness, you should inform your employer immediately. You then have one year from the date of injury, or from when you discovered your injury or illness, to submit a workers’ compensation claim.
You can file a claim by completing a Workers’ and Physician’s Report of Injury with your doctor or by filing a Worker’s Report of Injury with the ICA. Your employer will also be required to file an Employer’s Report of Injury, which is only a report of the incident, not a claim.
The employer’s insurance company will also be notified at this time and has 21 days to accept or deny the claim.
The ICA will send you a letter of acknowledgement within two weeks of receiving your claim. Your employer’s insurance company will most likely make a decision on your claim within three weeks.
Worker’s compensation will be applied to all required medical treatment related to your workplace illness or injury. Workers who have an injury that prevents them from working temporarily may be provided short-term assistance. Those who have a disability that permanently prevents them from working may receive long-term compensation and assistance.
If your claim is denied, or if you believe your claim is worth more than you received, you can file an appeal within 90 days of the decision by requesting a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney will be able to assist you with this process.
The Phoenix workers’ compensation attorneys at the Phillip’s Law Group have helped many workers receive the compensation they deserve. We always provide a free, no obligation initial consultation and offer our services on a contingency fee basis, which means we charge no legal fees unless you are awarded compensation.