Arizona Goes Hands-Free; Bans Texting and Driving
Posted on behalf of Phillips Law Group on Apr 29, 2019 in Auto Accidents
On April 22, 2019, Arizona Governor Doug Ducey signed House Bill 2318 — banning the use of hand-held mobile devices while driving — in hopes of changing driver behavior in the state. Texting and driving is now considered a primary offense, which means you can get pulled over if you are caught doing it. The statewide ban will replace local ordinances, and law enforcement will start issuing citations on January 1, 2021.
How Does the New Law Help My Personal Injury Case?
Most car crashes are caused by human error, like distracted driving. If you are injured in a crash due to someone’s negligence, your personal injury attorney will help you gather evidence in order to seek compensation. If the negligent party is cited for distracted driving, this could help build the strength of your case. But is that enough? Jeffrey Phillips, founding partner of Phillips Law Group, explains how this new law impacts your personal injury case.
How important is this new law for personal injury cases? While the law is in effect, the penalties don’t kick in until January 1, 2021. How does this affect a personal injury case if the negligent party wasn’t cited? Will this law allow you to seek more compensation for clients?
- First offense: $150 fine
- Second or more offenses: Up to $250 fine
- Criminal penalty: Up to 6 months in jail; $2,500 fine for causing a crash with serious injuries or death
Like most laws, there are some exemptions:
- Voice to text (hands-free)
- If you are stopped at a traffic light
- Calling for help in an emergency