Arizona Driver Fines | Phillips Law Group
- Home /
- Arizona Driver Fines | Phillips Law Group
No one ever expects to be involved in an auto accident. Your behavior following a collision, or as a motorist in general, can significantly impact your ability to recover losses related to the crash. As a driver in Arizona, it is important that you are aware of the states various traffic laws and driving rules, including vehicle codes and statutes on common traffic violations.
If you or a loved one was injured in a Phoenix auto accident, we urge you to consult with an attorney who is well-versed in Arizona traffic laws.
To begin exploring your legal options, contact Phillips Law Group today by completing the Free Case Review form to the right.
Common Driver Violations
Arizona traffic laws were put in place in order to keep drivers as safe as possible on the roadways. Failure to follow these laws could result in fines, and even worse, a serious accident. Some of the most common traffic violations are listed below.
Drinking and Driving Violations
In all 50 states and the District of Columbia, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher. Arizona has an implied consent law, which means that if you refuse to take a chemical test, you will be fined and have your license automatically suspended.
For those convicted of an Arizona DUI, in addition to jail time, license suspension and a possible ignition interlock device, a driver will incur the following fines:
- First Offense: No less than $1,250.
- Second/Subsequent Offenses: No less than $3,250.
- Extreme DUI (BAC of .15% or higher) First Offense: No less than $2,500.
- Extreme DUI Second/Subsequent Offenses: No less than $3,250.
These fines do not include any civil and/or punitive penalties that a driver may incur if they caused a DUI accident which resulted in the injury or wrongful death of another. Additionally, motorists found guilty of driving under the influence may be charged court diversion fees, state fees, state surcharges and school fees associated with defensive driving programs.
Driving without a License or Driving with a Suspended License
Driving without a valid license is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor. In Arizona, a Class 1 Misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of a $2,500 fine and six months in jail.
Driving without Insurance or with Insufficient Insurance
The total amount of fines an Arizona driver may incur for driving without insurance can vary depending on the court, but in general, motorists guilty of this offense can expect the following for driving without insurance:
- $442.50 for a First Offense
- $885 for a Second Offense
- $1,327.50 for a Third Offense
Fleeing the Scene of an Accident (Hit and Run)
When a driver is involved in an accident and they fail to immediately stop the vehicle, or as close to the scene as possible, this is considered a hit and run accident. In addition to criminal charges that may be brought against the driver, especially if they caused the accident and the crash resulted in serious personal injury or death, a motorist who flees the scene of an accident may face a fine up to $500 plus an 84 percent surcharge.
Reckless driving is one of the more serious misdemeanor offenses in Arizona. When charged as a first time offense, drivers can incur a fine of up to $750 and possible jail time.
Running a Red Light or Stop Sign
Failing to stop or remain stopped for a red light can result in a fine of $243 if paid on time. A late fee of $40 may be added to your fine if you pay the fine after your court date.
The fine a driver incurs for speeding depends on how fast they were driving:
- $184 for driving under the speed limit to nine mph over the limit.
- $184 for driving faster than 65 mph on a highway with a 55 mph speed limit.
- $194 for 10 to 15 mph over the speed limit.
- $214 for driving 16 to 20 mph over the speed limit.
Contact an Experienced Phoenix Attorney
Arizona traffic fines vary by violations and by location. If a driver in violation of any of these traffic laws caused the accident that resulted in the detriment of you or your vehicle, you may be eligible to file a lawsuit to recover damages from the crash.
We urge you to contact an attorney as soon as possible if you were injured in an auto accident due to no fault of your own. At Phillips Law Group, our lawyers have the knowledge and resources necessary to successfully litigate an injury claim. Our staff will recreated the scene of the accident in order to find the exact cause of the crash and will hold the responsible parties accountable for the injuries that resulted.
With an office in Phoenix, our personal injury lawyers are dedicated to fighting for the rights of Arizona residents who have suffered harm by the actions of another, whether by accident or through malicious intent.
Our firm operates on a contingency fee basis. This means that if you choose to hire our firm, there is never any cost to you unless we obtain a favorable outcome for your claim.
If you are unsure if you have cause to file a Phoenix auto accident injury claim, contact us to schedule a free, initial consultation. During a consultation, one of our lawyers will assess the merits of your claim and offer guidance on how to best pursue legal recourse for your condition.
For more information on the legal rights which may be available to Arizona auto accident victims and their families or to schedule a confidential, no-obligation consultation with a member of our legal team, please complete the Free Case Review form on this page.
Phillips law group has an amazing staff and i recommend them to everyone.
They knew exactly how to explain the case to me in a way that I would understand it. They gave me hope that my life wasn’t over.
Phillips law group is the best around!
Phillips is the best!! Love all that they do to give back to the community and how much they help those who are experiencing homelessness. ❤️
Sophia H. at Phillips Law Group has been an absolute joy to work with -quick, responsive, and professional in every interaction. Her breadth of knowledge, from administration to IT to finance, is nothing short of impressive.
Liz was great
Jasmine Delgado is an amazing paralegal. She was patient, kind and extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend Phillips law group
Kathy Hudson and Donato Giovanatto. Continues to go above and beyond the call of duty. Reaching out to the insurance company about the damage to the vehicle. Forcing them to take responsibility.
Thank you Phillips Law Group for all the support and back to school assistance we appreciate it.
PLG is the best! Highly recommend. Love that they do so much to help the community.